Workshop Announcement

19. Söllerhaus Workshop

Fast Boundary Element Methods in Industrial Applications

17.-20.10.2021, Söllerhaus (Kleinwalsertal)

This year, the workshop is dedicated to

Wolfgang L. Wendland
in occasion of his 85th birthday in September 2021.

As of today, the 3G rule applies for meetings with more than 25 participants, i.e., participants should be either tested, vaccinated, or recovered. Since the Söllerhaus is situated in Austria, Austrian rules apply. However, since you have to travel via Germany, German rules may apply too.

In continuation of the previous workshops in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and in 2020 on Fast Boundary Element Methods in Industrial Applications the topics of this workshop include, but are not limited to,

  • Fast Boundary Element Methods:
    Wavelets, Fast Multipole, Panel Clustering, Adaptive Cross Approximation, Hierarchical Matrices,...
  • Efficient Solution Methods:
    Preconditioning, Domain Decomposition, Parallelization,...
  • A Posteriori Error Estimates and Adaptive Methods
  • Transient Boundary Value Problems
  • Space-Time Discretization Methods
  • Coupled Field Problems
  • Optimization and Inverse Problems
  • Industrial and Engineering Applications
  • ...

The scientific program of the workshop will start on Sunday, 17.10.2021, 4.00 pm, and will close on Wednesday, 20.10.2021, noon.
The Söllerhaus is situated in the beautiful surroundings of the Kleinwalsertal. Although it belongs to Austria, it can be reached only from Germany via Oberstdorf.
Depending on the number of participants the costs of staying at the Söllerhaus will be approximately 200 Euro.

To register for the workshop with or without a talk please send an e-mail to until September 30, 2021. Please include an abstract (LaTeX or plain text file) if you like to present a talk. The preliminary program and additional information will be sent out beginning of October.

Preliminary list of participants (as of 14.10.2021)

  1. Martin Averseng (Zürich)
  2. Pieter Barendrecht (Basel)
  3. Andre Buchau (Stuttgart)
  4. Simon Chandler-Wilde (Reading)
  5. Giulia Di Credico (Parma)
  6. Michael Feischl (Wien)
  7. Gregor Gantner (Amsterdam)
  8. Heiko Gimperlein (Edinburgh)
  9. Helmut Harbrecht (Basel)
  10. Ralf Hiptmair (Zürich)
  11. Matthias Kirchhart (Aachen)
  12. Mirela Kohr (Cluj)
  13. Ignacio Labarca (Zürich)
  14. Ulrich Langer (Linz)
  15. Richard Löscher (Darmstadt)
  16. Dalibor Lukas (Ostrava)
  17. Pierre Marchand (Bath)
  18. Michal Merta (Ostrava)
  19. Michael Multerer (Lugano)
  20. Maximilian Nolte (Darmstadt)
  21. Victor Nistor (Metz)
  22. Günther Of (Graz)
  23. Ceyhun Özdemir (Graz)
  24. Piyush Panchal (Zürich)
  25. Remo von Rickenbach (Basel)
  26. Andrea Scaglioni (Wien)
  27. Erick Schulz (Zürich)
  28. Christoph Schwab (Zürich)
  29. Euan Spence (Bath)
  30. Olaf Steinbach (Graz)
  31. David Ulcak (Ostrava)
  32. Gerhard Unger (Graz)
  33. Carolina Urzua Torres (Delft)
  34. Raphael Watschinger (Graz)
  35. Wolfgang Wendland (Stuttgart)
  36. Marco Zank (Wien)

Organization: U. Langer (Linz)
M. Schanz (Graz)
O. Steinbach (Graz)
W. L. Wendland (Stuttgart)
Location: Söllerhaus

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Olaf Steinbach
Institut für Angewandte Mathematik
Technische Universität Graz
Steyrergasse 30
A 8010 Graz